Weekend Blogging

I got up at 6:30am on a Sunday morning to get this blog written before everybody got up.

Two minutes later my six year old got up.

Damn it.

WHY!!

I can’t write a blog whilst she’s around and she has a tonne of homework to be done so we’ll get that sorted and then I can get back to writing my blog.  Two hours later and one massive row lost she has finally drawn a picture of a scooter park.

The three year old is now up too.  And Daddy.  Perhaps they’ll all occupy each other.  Apart from I owe Daddy a trip to the gym so off he goes.  I’ll get those two on the playdough and then I can do some blogging.

Apart from they keep talking so I can’t concentrate on the blog.  Why can’t they do playdough in silence and then I can concentrate on what I’m doing.

“If you just shut up for 10 minutes I can finish what I’m doing and then I can join in with the play dough too.”

They agree to this plan.  They last approx 0.3 seconds before World War three breaks out over the playdough cupcake holder.  Why was there only one in the packet?  I consider paying £35 to buy another cupcake holder play set just to get the damned holder to stop the damned row so that I can finish this bloody blog.

Daddy returns from the gym.  Hooray – he can look after the kids.  Apart from he now wants to have a shower as well.  How much time to himself does he need!!!  He reminds me that it’s not unreasonable of him to want to wash.  I begrudgingly agree.  He goes off to wash.

I spend five minutes playing with the kids because that’s all it takes for Daddy to wash.  He is back to take over the kids.  I sneak off upstairs to write the blog.

Finally, I’m sat in the peace of my bedroom, ready to sit and write my blog.

And all I can hear are the laughs and giggles of Daddy and my girls having a perfect Sunday morning, cuddling, tickling, playing.  Doing everything I want to do instead of writing a blog.  Why am I writing a blog?  I don’t want to be doing this on a Sunday.  Why didn’t I get more organised and do this in the week?  Damned me and my weekend working.  I hate working at the weekends.  I’m just going to do it really quickly and then get back downstairs so that I can go join in the weekend fun – because that’s what weekends should be.

Sorry peeps – you’ll have to wait until next week for a decent blog!

 

 

If you enjoyed this blog then like us on Facebook by clicking HERE.  A blog is published every Monday morning.

SARAH CANTRILL is a woman on a mission to inspire every young child to become a reader for pleasure.  She is the Artistic Director & Founder of STORY STORKS, a social enterprise that delivers interactive story workshops to early years children and their grown ups, that help kids to fall in love with stories and develop their early language skills meaning that they have an easier time of learning to read when the time is right.  Infact 85% of the kids who come through STORY STORKS  are right where they should be or ahead in terms of progression through the reading book scheme once they get to school and the ones who are behind are trying hard because they know that it’s worth it – that to read is to unlock a whole world of fun and adventure and learning and imagination and they might take a bit longer to get there but they’re determined that get there they will.

www.storystorks.co.uk

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

