Wine vs Kids

I love my kids, I really do

But wine, my gosh I love you too

I was supposed to give you up

When I gave birth to my two pups

 

I ought to be a grown-up now

And show my little lovelies how

To be so very well behaved.

When you turn up, I am depraved!

 

With you, oh wine I can do things

That tea and coffee just can’t bring

You help me dance, you help me sing

You give me leave to wear big bling

 

A night with you is wonderful

I feel so young and beautiful

But in the morning you are gone

And that’s when everything goes wrong

 

For now, without you in my life

My head feels like it’s met a knife

I have to run off to the loo

(Not for a number 1 or 2!)

 

The worst part of your quiet retreat

Is that you leave me with the feat

Of tending to my kids all day

My will power’s weak, they’ll get their way!

 

Crisps for breakfast, bribes galore.

Yes, you can eat off the floor

Have this money, eat that biscuit

All my powers, I now forfeit

 

Television helps me out

iPad also gets a shout

But you my darling lovely wine

You are blessing, and a swine!

 

If I am to be the doyenne

I never can drink wine again

I’ll last for days, maybe a week

But then it shows it’s rosy cheeks

 

Wine winks at me, whispers ‘Bonjour’

And once again I’m on the floor

It seems I haven’t learned a thing

As once again we dance our fling

 

How can I reach a liberation

From this luscious saturation?

I ask you, in desperation

Could wine take me in moderation?

 

 

I have written this in jest! I enjoy wine in moderation, with the occasional lapse into drinking like I’m still 20 and paying heavily the next day when we attend a party such as we did this weekend. My love of the booze calmed down considerably knowing that I had to get up the next morning at 5:30am to look after a toddler!

But for some mums wine can become a crutch that helps them through a difficult time and they can’t put that crutch down, even when the difficult time has ended and the kids are older. For those mums, hangovers aren’t a joke. They are a sign that they need a bit of help. It might even be covering up something worse i.e. depression or other related disorders.

Your GP is a good place to start, but if you really can’t face that then try the addiction helper free helpline. You can check out more details on them here. You can also contact them if you are worried about a friend….or your mum!

For now, happy drinking, in moderation! Remember, wine is still single and is not interested in helping you look after your kids in the morning. It will not love you tomorrow – this is a one night stand – don’t give it too much of you!!!

 

If you enjoyed this blog you may also enjoy

‘WHEEL OF DEATH’ TRAINING AVAILABLE IN LOCAL PARK

Inspiring Even More Young Voters!

GUIDE TO DANGEROUS PARENTING NO. 1 – Judging your own child’s event  

The Reward of Women in Work

Parent Power – A summary of what the Political Parties will do for schools (actual facts, not just made up stuff!)

You can also like us on Facebook by clicking HERE.  A blog is published every Monday morning.  If you like a tweet then you can find us on Twitter @storystorks

SARAH CANTRILL is a woman on a mission to inspire every young child to become a reader for pleasure.  She is the Artistic Director & Founder of STORY STORKS, a social enterprise that delivers interactive story workshops to early years children and their grown ups, that help kids to fall in love with stories and develop their early language skills meaning that they have an easier time of learning to read when the time is right. She is also passionate about helping and supporting parents through the early years and lobbying for a better understanding of them and the issues they present.  Occasionally she also speaks up for the kids too!

5 thoughts on “Wine vs Kids

  1. Sarah- what a hilarious post, with a point! I also love wine (as many former relief & development workers do) but had to give it up (mostly) for health reasons (too much acid.) Alas, I can look at a glass but must pass! 🍷

Leave a Reply

